About Rob Swigart

_MG_7083
I’ve been a writer of one kind or another most of my adult life, starting as a cub reporter at the Cincinnati Enquirer. While working publishing in the 1960s, I sensed the influx of newly minted MBAs into the industry was a harbinger of traditional publishing’s decline. I ignored my trepidations and the advice of my parents and plunged into a writing career., though I did hedge my bets by getting a PhD in Comparative Literature. From there I taught at the university level, worked as a technology journalist and technical writer, scripted computer games and a television episode, published several novels and a hundred or so poems, did story, scenario and report writing for the Institute for the Future in Palo Alto, CA, and generally had a very good time. Most of my novels are available from an on-line seller like Barnes and Noble or Amazon. Several are also available as eBooks.

My latest books have had an archaeology theme, a lifelong interest. I’m currently at work on a blend of fiction and non-fiction tracing the evolution of religion, diet, family structure and perception from the Paleolithic age of hunter-gatherers through what I call the Sedentary Divide, that period in the human story when we adopted agriculture, and were in turn adopted by it, leading to inequality, state religion, war, slavery, empire and the Tea Party. One possible subtitle might be How Stone Age People Ruined Our Future. Another could be How We Stopped Moving and Changed Everything. Of this topic I can only say this: Agriculture was mankind’s worst idea ever. Followed by monotheism.

Recently Released

The Delphi Agenda, available on Kindle.

YOU THOUGHT THE INQUISITION WAS SCARY THE FIRST TIME AROUND—NOW THEY HAVE MODERN TECHNOLOGY!

Papyrologist Lisa Emmer’s world flips when the Surete meets her at her Metro station with news of the savage murder of the esteemed Paris historian Dr. Raimond Foix, her friend and mentor in the study of ancient documents. Horrified, Lisa finds clues at the crime scene left behind for her by her mentor—clues to a secret kept hidden for centuries. These clues make her a prime suspect in the murder investigation, and also put her directly in the cross-hairs of a deadly commando group that proves to be none other than a contemporary offshoot of the Inquisition.

They want an ancient document that reveals a secret so explosive it could change the world—a document they’ve been tracking for centuries. Led by a sadistic priest and a vicious but very accomplished nun with excellent military cred, their mission is to destroy the document—no matter what the cost in blood.

Desperate to clear her name and to stay alive, with the help of a handsome yet mysterious banker, Lisa must solve the clues and uncover the millennia-old secret before her adversaries can find and destroy it. Since she was a child Lisa had suffered from uncontrollable fugue states. Now she discovers just in time that what she always thought was a liability may in fact be an almost paranormal ability to see things in ways others cannot. The trail leads everywhere from ancient cemeteries and tombs throughout France to Istanbul and Greece, as Lisa and Steve desperately stay one step ahead of their enemies, solving the clues to a dangerous treasure hunt their lives now depend upon.

A must-read for fans of Steve Berry, Dan Brown and Raymond Khoury!

The Thriller in Paradise series reissued on Kindle.

Essays and Short Stories at the Electronic Book Review

Satisfying Ambiguity, essay written just after 9/11. The Wizard of Oz meets the Delphic Oracle. George W. Bush needs a brain. Dick Cheney needs a heart…

Past Futures, Future’s Past, essay about the emergence of the concept of linear time and the beginning of history in the New Stone Age.

Not Just a River, essay: Denial, according to Mark Twain, is not just a big river in Egypt.

Anomalies, essay: three books that investigate the anomalous, address the unexplained, and answer the impossible. The truth is in here.

Dispersion, short story. Digital media fragment us.

Seeking, short story. Personal ads have never been this complicated.

Recent Novel

Read the first chapter of my novel The White Pig. It is available online in both eBook and paper.

 Contact Me.

© 2012 Rob Swigart